From Farina to Hamilton: The stats of F1’s pole place report-holders | F1 facts


Final weekend Lewis Hamilton become handiest the 8th motive force within the sixty seven-yr historical past of the arena championship to carry the report for so much pole positions.

Even via F1 requirements this can be a uncommon fulfillment. That is most effective the fourth time the document has modified palms on the grounds that 1958. Historical past tells us it can be a decade or extra ahead of any person surpasses Hamilton’s eventual mark, anywhere he increases it to.

Folks that preceded Hamilton come with Giuseppe Farina, Juan Manuel Fangio and Walt Faulkner, who took pole for the primary 3 global championship races respectively. The latter used to be the Indianapolis 500.

Fangio in short held the document but if damage stored him out of the 1952 season Alberto Ascari seized the initiative. After Ascari’s premature demise Fangio driven the document to 29, taking his ultimate pole place in entrance of his house crown at Buenos Aires.

Alberto Ascari, Lancia D50, Monza, 1954
Ascari beat Fangio’s pole report, then misplaced it to him once more

years after Fangio retired the person who took his name made his grand prix debut. Jim Clark used to be a entrance row fixture till his demise in 1968. A yr ahead of that, in Canada, Clark ended Fangio’s reign as the number 1 pole sitter of all time after thirteen years and 29 days.

It took over 20 years for someone to surpass Clark. He used to be campaigning the up to date in a chain of powerful Lotus chassis in F1 on the time of his dying and may definitely have accrued greater than his 33 pole positions. However the similar may well be stated of the driving force who eclipsed Clark’s report and virtually doubled it.

Ayrton Senna’s pole place on the 1989 United States Grand Prix used to be his 8th in a row. He used to be probably the most prolific pole-setter in each and every season bar one from 1985 to 1991.

Move advert-loose for simply £1 per 30 days

>> In finding out extra and enroll

Jim Clark, Lotus 25, Silverstone, 1965
Clark used to be the number 1 pole sitter for over 20 years

At that time in his profession, ahead of the upward push of Williams-Renault in 1992, Senna had already higher the report to 60. His pole place strike fee stood at a fantastic forty seven.6%. He most effective began from pole on 5 extra events sooner than he used to be killed at Imola in 1994.

On the following race Michael Schumacher began from pole place for the primary time. He sooner or later claimed Senna’s report, surpassing it at Imola in 2006 and edging it from sixty five to sixty eight prior to bowing out of F1 on the finish of the yr.

In a neat however fortunately much less tragic symmetry, the driving force who eclipsed Schumacher’s document made his grand prix debut within the race after Schumacher first retired. Hamilton and Schumacher sooner or later shared the monitor while the latter back to F1 with Mercedes in 2010.

Ayrton Senna, McLaren, Adelaide, 1989
Senna handed Clark in 1989

Schumacher used to be not able so as to add to his poles tally, despite the fact that he will have to have performed at Monaco in 2012. The Mercedes motive force crowned the qualifying consultation however needed to take a 5-position grid drop for ramming Bruno Senna’s Williams within the earlier race. In an additional twist of fate, Hamilton were stripped of pole place on the earlier race after his McLaren failed a technical test.

In 2013 Hamilton changed Schumacher at Mercedes and the yr after that the workforce produced the primary in a chain of crushingly dominance V6 hybrid turbo automobiles. Most effective now are they starting to face actual festival however it hasn’t been sufficient to prevent Hamilton taking two times as many pole positions as his competitors placed in combination this yr.

How so much upper it’s going to pass will depend on how lengthy he intends to stay competing and the way aggressive Mercedes will remain. May just Hamilton be the primary motive force previous one hundred? It’s now not out of the query.

All-time pole place report in stats

Evolution of the report

Click on, scroll and drag to zoom and transfer the graph above.

Most sensible ten pole-sitters by way of strike fee

NB. Most effective comprises drivers who set multiple pole place.

Start, Monte-Carlo
Schumacher’s first pole got here one race after Senna’s remaining

F1 information

Browse all F1 facts articles

Leave A Reply