‘Blade Runner 2049’ Wins Most sensible Prize From American Society of Cinematographers


Stephen Vaughan / Warner Bros.

Roger Deakins has been named the most productive cinematographer of 2017 for his paintings on “Blade Runner 2049,” the American Society of Cinematographers introduced on the ASC Awards on Saturday night time.

The distinction marks Deakins’ fourth aggressive ASC Award, along with one lifetime-fulfillment award from the crowd. Although he’s extensively acclaimed as the best dwelling cinematographer and has been nominated for the Oscar 14 occasions, Deakins hasn’t ever gained an Academy Award.

The 5 ASC nominees within the theatrical class — Deakins, Bruno Delbonnel for “Darkest Hour,” Dan Laustsen for “The Form of Water,” Hoyte van Hoytema for “Dunkirk” and Rachel Morrison for “Mudbound” — have been the similar because the 5 nominees for the Academy Award for cinematography, with Morrison the primary lady ever nominated for each awards.

However the win does now not essentially imply that Deakins is now an Oscar frontrunner. Within the first 31 years of the ASC Awards, the theatrical winner went directly to win the Oscar most effective thirteen occasions, even if 3 of the ones wins (“Gravity,” “Birdman” and “The Revenant,” all to Emmanuel Lubezki) have been within the ultimate 4 years.

Extra ceaselessly than now not, even though, ASC participants disagree with the Academy. That explains why Lubezki gained ASC Awards ahead of he gained his first Oscar, and why Deakins gained his first 3 ASC Awards however then misplaced on the Oscars.

The ASC Highlight Award, which matches to a overseas or indie movie with out extensive distribution, used to be gained by way of Mart Taniel for the black-and-white Estonian movie “November.”

Tv awards went to Adriano Goldman for the “Smoke and Mirrors” episode of “The Crown,” Mathias Herndl for the primary episode of the Nat Geo miniseries “Genius” and Boris Mojsovski for the “Thief” episode of “12 Monkeys.”

The rite came about within the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. Honorary awards got to director Angelina Jolie, cinematographers Russell Wood worker, Alan Caso, Russell Boyd and Stephen Lighthill and Kino Flo Lighting fixtures Techniques founder Frieder Hochheim.

The ASC Awards winners:

Theatrical Free up: Roger Deakins, “Blade Runner 2049”

Highlight Award: Mart Taniel, “November”

Movement Image, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Tv: Mathias Herndl, “Genius,” “Bankruptcy 1”

Episode of a Collection for Non-Business Tv: Adriano Goldman, “The Crown,” “Smoke and Mirrors”

Episode of a Collection for Business Tv: Boris Mojsovski, “12 Monkeys,” “Thief”

Lifetime Fulfillment Award: Russell Wood worker
Board of Governors Award: Angelina Jolie
Profession Fulfillment in Tv Award: Alan Caso
Global Award: Russell Boyd
Presidents Award: Stephen Lighthill
Bud Stone Award of Difference: Frieder Hochheim

Andrew Lesnie History Award Winners:
Undergraduate: Logan Fulton, “Widow”
Graduate: Favienne Howsepian, “Snowplow”
Haskell Wexler Scholar Documentary Award: Connor Ellmann, “Eternally House”

Comments are closed.