2017 Belgian Grand Prix stats preview | 2017 Belgian Grand Prix


This weekend a Belgian motive force will have to contest his house grand prix for the primary time considering Jerome D’Ambrosio introduced his Virgin house seventeenth six years in the past.

Assuming Stoffel Vandoorne doesn’t endure some other pre-race failure (as he did in Bahrain and his group mate did in Russia), he’s going to turn into the nineteenth Belgian motive force to start out his house grand prix.

No Belgian motive force has ever gained their house spherical of the arena championship. Best 3 Belgians have stood at the podium at house: Paul Frere (2d in 1956), Olivier Gendebien (3rd in 1960) and Jacky Ickx (3rd in 1968).

The latter is Belgium’s so much a success F1 motive force. Ickx took 8 wins and a complete of 25 podium finishes all the way through his profession. His first rostrum look got here at house, even though he by no means reached the highest 3 once more in Belgium after that.

Race historical past

Peter Collins and the sector tackling Eau Rouge in 1956

The Belgian Grand Prix is one among Formulation One’s so much enduring races. This yr’s instalment would be the 62nd – it’s most effective been lacking from the arena championship calendar on six events (1957, 1959, 1969, 1971, 2003 and 2006).

The daunting Spa-Francorchamps direction held so much of the ones occasions, although the race used to be most commonly held at Zolder all through the seventies after the unique 14-kilometre Spa direction used to be deemed too bad for F1 automobiles.

The general race at the antique Spa-Francorchamps used to be gained by way of Pedro Rodriguez at a standard velocity of 241.3kph. Extremely, that race forty seven years in the past used to be finished at a better moderate velocity than any of the eleven rounds thus far this yr, the quickest of that is Valtteri Bottas’s Austrian Grand Prix win at 224.7kph.

The present monitor could also be so much shorter than the antique one however at 7.004 kilometres Spa is still the longest monitor at the present Components One calendar, similar to greater than laps of Monaco in relation to distance.

Move advert-loose for simply £1 per 30 days

>> In finding out extra and enroll

The shape ebook

Kimi Raikkonen, McLaren, Spa-Francorchamps, 2004
Raikkonen gave McLaren’s MP4-19B its best win in 2004

Kimi Raikkonen cast a name as a Spa-grasp via profitable this race 4 occasions out of 5 among 2004 and 2009. Strikingly, the primary and final of the ones have been the one victories for the automobiles he drove: McLaren’s MP4-19B and Ferrari’s F60 respectively.

Raikkonen would possibly have made it 5 out of 5 had he now not spun out after prime 37 laps in 2008. That allowed Felipe Massa scored his most effective win on the monitor up to now after Lewis Hamilton used to be controversially penalised. Hamilton avenged his misplaced victory in 2010 and 2015.

Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo are the one different drivers within the box to have gained this race. Remarkably, Fernando Alonso hasn’t ever gained the Belgian Grand Prix. Then again he did rating his remaining pre-F1 win at Spa throughout the Method 3000 enhance race in 2000.

Lap occasions

The quickest laps from each and every race weekend at Spa-Francorchamps because the circuit used to be ultimate revised:


What number of overtaking movements have been made in up to date Belgian Grands Prix:

Supply: Mercedes

Race scores

How F1 Enthusiast readers have rated the Belgian Grand Prix in contemporary years:

Sign up for in Price the Race while the chequered flag falls on the finish of this yr’s race. You’ll want a (loose) F1 Enthusiast account to take part:

2017 Belgian Grand Prix

Browse all 2017 Belgian Grand Prix articles

Leave A Reply